Scientific Committee

An international scientific event needs a strong and broad scientific committee.

Our little country counts no less than 12 universities, located in both the French and the Dutch parts of the country. With this rich diversity, the contacts worldwide are numerous, which allowed us to build a large scientific committee, composed of renowned persons from many countries.

Photo Marijke Huysmans
Marijke Huysmans

Marijke Huysmans is a professor in hydrogeology at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel and KU Leuven. Her teaching and research focus on hydrogeology, groundwater modeling, geostatistics and river-aquifer interaction.

Members (Belgium)
Serge BROUYERE, ULiège
Vincent HALLET, UNamur
Thomas HERMANS, UGent
Frédéric NGUYEN, ULiège
Jeroen NOVEMBER, Government of Flanders, Department of Environment & Spatial Development
Tanguy ROBERT, Vivaqua
Alexandre VANDENBOHEDE, De Watergroep
Kristine WALRAEVENS, UGent
Members (International)
Peter Dillon, CSIRO, Australia
Esther Wattel-Koekkoek, RIVM, The Netherlands
Pieter Stuyfzand, TUDelft, KIWA, KWR, The Netherlands
Henning Prommer, CSIRO, Univ. of Western Australia, Australia
Vincent Post, BGR, Germany
Nicholas Howden, University of Bristol, UK
Niklas Linde, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
Andrew Binley, Lancaster University, UK
Lhoussaine Bouchaou, University Ibn Zohr, Morocco
Barbara Cencur Curk, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Peter Bayer, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
Anna Suzuki, Tohoku University, Japan
Daryl Cowell, Daryl W. Cowell & Associates Inc., Canada
Gudrun Massmann, Universiteit Oldenburg, Germany
Marco Pettita, Sapienza University of Roma, Italy
Seifu Kebede, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
Rene Therrien, ULaval, Canada
Xiao Wei Jiang, China University of Geosciences (Beijing), China
Alice Aureli, UNESCO, France
Simone Grego, UNESCO, France
Okke Batelaan, Flinders University Adelaide, Australia
Jesus Carrera, IDAEA-CSIC, Spain
Cliff Voss, US Geological Survey, USA
Gualbert Oude Essink, Deltares, Universiteit Utrecht, The Nederlands
Didier Pennequin, BRGM, France
Laurence Chery, BRGM, France
Jude Cobbing, World Bank Group, South Africa / UK
Teresa De Melo, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Jef Caers, Stanford University, USA
Philippe Renard, University de Neufchâtel, Switzerland
Chris Langevin, USGS, USA
Judith Flügge, GRS, Germany
Thomas Vienken, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung, Germany
Andrew Stone, American Ground Water Trust, USA
Shammy Puri, IAH Secretary General, UK
Melina Balderrama, Universidad Catolica Boliviana, Bolivia
Georg Houben, BGR, Germany
Maurizio Polemio, CNR-IRPI, Italy
Olivier Bour, Université de Rennes, France